top of page

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework which was revised in 2014. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.


The Early Years Foundation Stage framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.


The EYFS sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare


  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge


  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS


  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year


 > Find out more about EYFS from the information in the download section.

Learning and Development

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. Children will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of Learning and Development.

Prime Areas:

  • Communication and language;

  • Physical development; and

  • Personal, social and emotional development.


The Specific Areas:

  • Literacy;

  • Mathematics;

  • Understanding the world; and

  • Expressive arts and design.


> More information about the areas of learning can be found in the Parent’s Guide produced by 4Children. You can find this in the download section.


For further information on the curriculum, please contact us.

bottom of page